CHICAGO — The National Marine Manufacturers Association and Boating Writers International have announced judges for the 2008 Miami Innovation Awards, presented during the Miami International Boat Show Feb. 14-17. Among the judges is Matt Trulio, the powerboat editor for and editor at large for Powerboat magazine.

Trulio joined as powerboat editor in 2000 and is one the company's longest-standing employees. The winner of the 1999 Moulton H. "Monk" Farnam Award for Excellence in Editorial Commentary, as well as writing awards from Boating Writers International, Trulio started his marine writing career when he joined Powerboat magazine in 1995.

The judges' committee is comprised of BWI members who perform product testing throughout the year and have specific expertise in marine accessories. Zuzana Prochazka, chair of the BWI Innovation Awards Committee and a staff writer for Latitudes & Attitudes magazine, will serve as the Miami Innovation Awards Chair. Other BWI members participating on the committee for this year's Miami Innovation Awards include:

Tim Banse, editor of and regular contributor to Yachting and Motor Boating magazines.

Ben Ellison, electronics editor of Power & Motoryacht and SAIL magazines and author of electronics blog

Jan Mundy, co-founder and editor of DIY Boat Owner magazine.

Lenny Rudow, freelance writer, author and boating editor of Texas Fish & Game magazine.

John Wooldridge, executive editor of PassageMaker magazine