SEATTLE — Nate Brown of Preston, Wash., piloted Miss Elam Plus to victory at the Seafair General Motors Cup August 5. The Seafair event was the fifth race on the Budweiser Unlimited Hydroplane Series presented by Laughlin. Each of the five events has produced a different winner, a first in history of the sport.

The win was the first of Brown's career and for Miss Elam team owners, the Ellstrom family. Brown averaged 135.504 mph to take the victory.

"It is about time," said Brown. "It has been a long road from being Rookie of the Year in 1992 to my first victory today. This win is a total team effort and I would not be here if it weren't for their dedication. They worked feverishly during the off-season and especially over the past few weeks trying to get the new boat finished. I owe this victory to them."

Dave Villwock finished second in Bernie Little's Miss Budweiser. APBA Gold Cup winner, Michael Hanson in the Skyway Park Bowl & Casino finished third.

General Motors Cup Results

Finishing PositionBoat NameDriver
1Miss Elam PlusNate Brown
2Miss BudweiserDave Villwock
3Skyway Park Bowl & CasinoMichael Hanson
4Miss Znetix IITerry Troxell
5Miss Diamond Lil'sMark Weber
6Miss TrendwestScott Pierce
7Miss Znetix IGreg Hopp
8Vacationville.comMitch Evans
9Oh Boy! ObertoSteve David
10Miss EMCORMike Weber
11Silver Dollar CasinosDr. Ken Muscatel
12Golden Nugget CasinoJerry Hopp
13LLumar Window FilmJimmy King

The General Motors Cup will be televised on ESPN2 on Sunday, September 16 at 6 p.m. (EDT). The sixth and final stop on the Budweiser Unlimited Hydroplane Series presented by Laughlin is the San Diego Bayfair on Mission Bay September 14-16.